Amazon Prime Day – the same, but different

Press enter to search
Close search
Open Menu

Amazon Prime Day – the same, but different

By Dan Berthiaume - 07/12/2019
This year’s edition of Amazon Prime Day offers a few new twists with the standard offering of limited-time deep online discounts.

For the first time, Prime Day will last for two days, running from 12 a.m. PT/3 a.m. ET on Monday, July 15 through Tuesday, July 16. New deals will launch as often as every five minutes. In total, Prime Day will offer more than one million deals globally, including new featured Lightning Deals, which Amazon says will include “jaw-dropping” prices on “top-tier” brands.

Other new features include an exclusive chance to preorder select products from the new Haus Laboratories beauty collection from popular singer/actress Lady Gaga. In September, Gaga will begin selling the Haus Laboratories cosmetics line with Amazon as an exclusive retail outlet. Prime Day will also feature special deals on products founded by celebrities including Kristen Bell, Kobe Bryant, Zac Brown, Rhett & Link, JoJo Siwa, Will and Jaden Smith, Mark Wahlberg, and Marshmello.

Users of the Alexa voice device can obtain access to early Prime Day deals starting Saturday, July 14 at 12 p.m. PT/3 p.m. ET. Prime Day deals will also be available for brick-and-mortar shoppers at Whole Foods Market, Amazon Books, and the Amazon Treasure Truck. Additional online discounts will be available through other Amazon digital services including Twitch, Amazon Music Unlimited, Prime Video, Amazon Photos, Prime Book Box, Kindle Unlimited, Prime Pantry, and Amazon Fresh. Amazon app users can receive additional discounts on select early Prime Day deals and set “Watch a Deal” alerts for up to six hours before they are live.

Prime Day deals and offers are only available to members of the paid Amazon Prime delivery service, but non-members can start a free 30-day Prime trial to become eligible.