The waiting is over.
After nearly four years, Tiffany & Co. has reopened its famed flagship on the corner of 57th Street and Fifth Avenue. The iconic, 110,000-sq.-ft. store — immortalized in the 1961 film classic "Breakfast at Tiffany’s” starring Audrey Hepburn— has been extensively remodeled and is now being called “The Landmark.”
The flagship, one of New York City’s biggest tourist attractions, is reopening under new owners. In 2021, Tiffany was acquired by luxury conglomerate LVMH Moët Hennessy Louis Vuitton for nearly $16 billion. The deal ranked as the biggest ever in the luxury world.
The Tiffany flagship opened in 1940. In homage of the building’s original structure, the façade design was left untouched. Instead, the iconic Atlas statue and clock above the revolving doors were simply refurbished to honor its original design.
The interiors, however, have been completely reimagined, with the dark wood paneling and chrome replaced by lighter woods and gold accents. The store is lighter and brighter, with its 10 floors enhanced by works from famed artists. It’s also more opulent.
Legendary architect Peter Marino reimagined the interior architecture. OMA New York, led by Shohei Shigematsu, spearheaded the renovation of the building’s core and circulation infrastructure, along with the addition of the new three-story volume above the existing building. The rooftop addition replaces office space added in 1980.
The expansive main floor features jewelry cases illuminated by an innovative take on a skylight. The ceiling installation spans nearly the room’s length and is composed of an abstraction of facets. Its unique design is a tribute to Tiffany’s heritage and authority as the purveyor of the world’s finest diamonds.
Digital screens on the ground floor immerse customers in iconic New York City scenery and project sweeping views of Central Park and the Manhattan skyline. A new Tiffany & Co. clock, inspired by the original Atlas statue and clock, also sits on the ground level.
The heart of the store features a mirror-lined spiral staircase with Elsa Peretti-inspired balustrades that connects floors three through eight. Elevators allow access to every floor.
Tiffany’s signature Blue Box Café, a Daniel Boulud restaurant, has been redesigned and now includes a private dining area and bar with art installations. The restaurant, which serves a “Breakfast Tiffany” meal, has an Audrey Hepburn room that features a replica of the black Givenchy dress the actress worn in the film. (Givenchy was acquired by LVMH in 1988.)
Integrated throughout the Landmark’s 10 floors are nearly 40 artworks, including never-before-seen Tiffany-commissioned pieces. The curation features works by renowned artists including Damien Hirst, Julian Schnabel, Rashid Johnson, Anna Weyant and Daniel Arsham.
Wood parquet flooring throughout the building harkens back to the original 1940’s design, echoing the original pattern from the store interior.
Dedicated museum and exhibition spaces on floors eight and nine will feature a rotation of compelling concepts and unique storytelling experiences, the company said.
“The reopening of the iconic Fifth Avenue Landmark is a major milestone for our House,” said Anthony Ledru, president and CEO, Tiffany & Co. “Symbolic of a new era for Tiffany & Co., the Landmark is much more than a jewelry store— it is a cultural hub with an exquisite showcase of architecture and superior hospitality, as well as cutting-edge art and design. It sets a new bar for luxury retail on a global scale.”
Tiffany & Co. was founded in New York City in 1837 by Charles Lewis Tiffany. The company currently has more than 300 retail stores worldwide.