Skip to main content

Sprouts Farmers Market sets opening date, locations for seven new stores

Sprouts Farmers Market operates some 400 stores in 23 states. (Photo courtesy of Sprouts.)
Sprouts plans to open about 35 stores in 2024.

Sprouts Farmers Market continues to expand its store footprint.

The fresh, natural and organic foods grocer set the opening date for seven new stores that will open by March 15 (locations listed at end of article). In September, Sprouts celebrated the opening of its 400th store, in Haddon Township, N.J. 

As part of a five-year plan, the company remains committed to a robust growth strategy, aiming to expand 10% year over year.

“Our pipeline remains strong with nearly 100 approved stores, 60 executed leases and the expected opening of approximately 35 stores in 2024, with close to 70% in the back half,” CEO Jack Sinclair said during the company's third-quarter earnings call in October.

Sprouts’ new outposts are in keeping with the company’s smaller-format design concept, which features an approximate 23,000-sq.-ft. footprint. The stores feature a bright and airy farmers market experience with an open layout, community feel and produce at the heart of the space.

For its third quarter, ended Oct. 1, Sprouts’ net sales rose 7.6% to $1.7 billion from the year-ago period. Comparable store sales grew 3.9%. 

Here’s a listing of the new stores the grocer has announced so far for 2024.

•Port Charlotte, Fla. (Friday, Jan. 12)

•Miami-Coconut Grove, Fla. (Friday, Jan. 19)

•Burtonsville, Md. (Friday, Jan. 19)

•Cudahy, Calif.  (Friday, Feb. 16)

•Bakersfield, Calif. (Friday, March 1)

•Victorville, Calif. (Friday, March 15)

•Rockwall, Tex.  (Friday, March 15)

In addition, Sprouts plans to open six more stores in the Philadelphia area, the Philadelphia Business Journal reported in October. The expansion would bring the chain’s store count to 11 in a two-year span. 

Phoenix-based Sprouts operates approximately 400 stores in 23 states, including Alabama, Arizona, California, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland, Missouri, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia and Washington.

This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds