Meijer recognized for carbon reduction

Dan Berthiaume
Senior Editor, Technology
Dan Berthiaume profile picture

Meijer has received two supply chain sustainability awards.

For the second consecutive year, the Michigan-based discounter remains the only retailer named by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) as a SmartWay Excellence Award winner in two categories simultaneously – as a shipper and carrier.

Meijer has been recognized as a SmartWay award recipient in the past – as a shipping partner in 2017 and 2018 and as a carrier partner in 2018. The SmartWay Excellence Award is the EPA's highest recognition. It recognizes the top retail and manufacturing carriers and shippers that demonstrate how their logistical operations make a measurable difference in reducing carbon emissions, while also effectively managing fuel costs as they move goods around the country. 

SmartWay Excellence awardees are recognized for leading their industries in improving freight efficiency and contributing to cleaner air within their supply chains. 

Additionally, the Meijer fleet is one of 10 from across the country chosen by the National American Council for Freight Efficiency (NACFE) to represent the truck industry in its "Run on Less" fuel efficiency program. This program showcases trucks equipped with a variety of technologies that improve fuel efficiency. During three weeks in October, a driver from the selected fleets will haul freight in different locations across the U.S. to demonstrate fuel economy. Meijer operates a fleet of 250 semi-trucks that cover more than 27 million miles each year.

"We are honored to receive such a distinguished award that speaks volumes to the work our logistics team does day after day," said Tom McCall, VP of logistics for Meijer. "Our team diligently works to monitor and improve the efficiency of our fleet with the mission to minimize our carbon footprint across the Midwest."

Meijer is a Grand Rapids, Mich.-based retailer that operates more than 245 supercenters and grocery stores throughout Michigan, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Kentucky and Wisconsin.