Skip to main content

Hy-Vee executive honored by GMA


The Grocery Manufacturers Association has recognized the CEO of Hy-Vee Inc. with a collaborative leadership award.

Randy Edeker, chairman, CEO and president of Hy-Vee, Inc. was honored ths month with the GMA 2016 Industry Collaboration Leadership Award. Hy-Vee operates 240 stores throughout eight predominantly Midwestern states.

The award was presented to Edeker at the Food Marketing Institute’s (FMI) Midwinter Executive Conference. Now in its sixth year, the GMA award recognizes an industry leader who has demonstrated excellence in promoting collaboration among consumer packaged goods industry trading partners throughout his or her career.

“Randy Edeker is a prime example of the leadership and dedication that is crucial to successful trading partner collaboration,” said Pamela G. Bailey, president and CEO of GMA. “Randy’s passion for and commitment to collaboration across FMI, GMA and other allied trade organizations is an illustration of the great partner he is to the grocery retail community.”

Edeker’s career at Hy-Vee began 35 years ago with a part-time job at one of its retail stores in Iowa. He has held positions at every level of the organization and is now only the fourth person in Hy-Vee’s history to serve as President, Chairman and CEO.

Edeker has served on numerous national industry boards and advisory councils over the years. He currently is vice chairman of the Member Services Committee for the Food Marketing Institute (FMI), chairman of the largest American retail food Group Purchasing Organization, Topco Associates, and, beginning in 2015, chairman of the board for the National Association of Chain Drug Stores.

Past recipients of the GMA Industry Collaboration Leadership Award include Steve Smith of Food City, J.K. Symancyk of Meijer, Inc., Fred Morganthall of Harris Teeter, Inc., Joe Sheridan of Wakefern Food Corporation and Don Becker of The Kroger Co.

This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds