Skip to main content

FMI Announces Elections of 2008 Board Members


Food Marketing Institute (FMI) recently announced the election of 30 directors to the FMI Board. FMI also announced the election of a chair and four vice chairs to its Board.

Elected and reelected directors are Joseph Azzolina, Sr., president of Food Circus Supermarkets, Inc., Middletown, NJ; A.N. John Basha, Jr., vice chairman of the Board of Bashas’ Inc., Chandler, AZ;  Lawrence S. Benjamin, COO of Ahold USA, Inc., Carlisle, PA; Bradley W. Brookshire, chairman of the Board of Brookshire Grocery Company, Tyler, TX;  James Buchanan, president and CEO of Laurel Grocery Co., LLC, London, KY; Daniel G. Coborn, chairman of the Board of Coborn’s, Incorporated, St. Cloud, MN;  Richard B. Cohen, chairman and CEO of C Wholesale Grocers, Inc., Keene, NH;  Joseph S. Colalillo, president of ShopRite of Hunterdon County, Inc., Flemington, NJ; Ronald B. Edenfield, president of Wayfield Foods, Inc., Atlanta, GA; Steven Goddard, president and CEO of WinCo Foods, LLC, Boise, ID; Oscar Gonzalez, COO of Northgate Gonzalez Market, Anaheim, CA; Thomas M. Honer, president and owner of Harvest Market, Fort Bragg, CA; Lee Ann James, president of E.W. James Sons, Inc., Union City, TN; Anthony Longo, president and CEO of Longo’s Brothers Fruit Markets Inc., Ontario, CN; Angel Losada Moreno, CEO of Grupo Gigante, S.A.B. de C.V., Mexico City, Mexico; John Lucot, president of supermarket operations and COO, Giant Eagle, Inc., Pittsburgh, PA; Peter L. Lynch, chairman of the Board, CEO and president of Winn-Dixie Stores, Inc., Jacksonville, FL; Tokutaro Masui, president and CEO of Kinokuniya Co., Ltd., Tokyo, Japan; Norman C. Mayne, president and CEO of Dorothy Lane Market, Inc., Dayton, OH; Robert G. Miller, CEO of Albertsons LLC, Boise, ID; Richard A. Parkinson, president and CEO of Associated Food Stores, Inc., Salt Lake City, UT; Arthur Potash, CEO of Potash Bros., Chicago, IL; Senator Feargal Quinn, president of Superquinn, Dublin, Ireland; Gonzalo Restrepo, CEO of Almacenes Exito, S.A., Medellin, Colombia; David R. Skogen, owner and chairman of the Board of Festival Foods, Onalaska, WI; Mike Stone, president and CEO of Mollie Stone’s Markets, Mill Valley, CA; Ruediger Strein, director of OHG Fegro/Selgros, Neu-Isenburg, Germany; Craig C. Sturken, chairman and CEO of Spartan Stores, Inc., Grand Rapids, MI; Bruce Weitz, president and CEO of Kings Super Markets, Inc., Parsippany, NY; and Michael T. Williams, president of Williams’ Apple Market, Memphis, TN.

Elected as FMI vice chairs were Richard “Ric” N. Jurgens, chairman, CEO and president of Hy-Vee, Inc., West Des Moines, IA; Fred Morganthall, president of Harris Teeter, Inc., Matthews, NC; Gary Phillips, president and CEO of Associated Wholesale Grocers, Inc. (AWG), Kansas City, KS; and Norman S. Rich, CEO of Weis Markets, Inc., Sunbury, PA.


Steven C. Smith, president and CEO of K-VA-T Food Stores, Inc., d/b/a Food City, Abingdon, VA, was elected chair of the FMI Board; and Jeffrey Noddle, chairman and CEO of SUPERVALU INC., Minneapolis, MN, is the immediate past chair.

This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds