Skip to main content

New honor for Container Store chief


Kip Tindell, co-founder, chairman and CEO of The Container Store, has joined a global list of who’s who in retailing.

Tindell was inducted into the World Retail Hall of Fame during a closing day ceremony at the World Retail Congress in Rome, Italy. Now in its ninth year, the World Retail Hall of Fame has honored founders of some of the retail world’s most iconic brands.

“I’ve spent a lifelong career in retail and can’t imagine doing anything else. It’s the most exciting and innovative industry out there. So, to be recognized by the World Retail Congress in this light, given the organization’s high caliber impact on the global retail landscape, is beyond thrilling and humbling,” said Tindell.

In addition to Tindell, 2015 inductees are Dr. Christo Wiese, founder and chairperson of Pepkor Holdings (Pty) Limited and Shoprite Holdings Limited; Mohammed Alshaya, executive chairman, the Alshaya group of companies; and Juan Cúneo Solari and Reinaldo Solari, former chairmen, Falabella.

“Each year the World Retail Congress consults its advisory board, the Grand Jury for the World Retail Awards and other retail industry peers to identify those individuals they believe should be honored for their lifetime achievements and contribution to retailing. This select group of Hall of Fame members are true pioneers in the retailing world and on behalf of the Congress and its advisory board I am delighted to confer this honor on Kip Tindell and welcome him to the World Retail Hall of Fame,” said Ian McGarrigle, chairman of WRC.

Previous inductees include Martha Stewart, Paul Smith, Burt Tansky (former CEO of Neiman Marcus), the Nordstrom family, Phillip Green (chairman of the Arcadia Group, owner of Topshop), Mickey Drexler (CEO of J.Crew), Gordon Segal (founder and former CEO of Crate & Barrel), Mike Ullman (former CEO of J.C. Penney) and Ray Kelvin (Founder & CEO of Ted Baker).

This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds