Skip to main content

Kroger names new Fred Meyer Stores president


That was fast.

The Kroger Co. wasted no time in naming a replacement for Jeff Burt, president of Fred Meyer Stores, who resigned on Monday, March 20, to head up Target’s grocery business.

Kroger tapped company veteran Joe Grieshaber as president of Fred Meyer Stores, immediately.

Grieshaber began his career with Kroger in 1983 as a store management trainee in Nashville, Tenn. He has served in a variety of leadership roles with Kroger, most recently as president of Kroger's Columbus division.

"Joe is known throughout the retail industry as an exceptional leader who always brings out the best in his people and teams," said Fred Morganthall, Kroger's executive VP of retail operations. "His depth of experience will help the Fred Meyer team build on their successes and continue to innovate and deliver a unique shopping experience for our customers."

Succeeding Grieshaber is Dan De La Rosa, who has been promoted to president of Kroger's Columbus division. De La Rosa currently serves as VP of merchandising for Fred Meyer Stores.

This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds